About HEBCoN

HEBCoN’s mission is to promote and enhance the ability of Higher Education Institutions to identify and manage their risks, withstand and respond to disruptive events; maintaining the delivery of critical services to students through the sharing & promotion of best practice in risk management, emergencyplanning and business continuity.

Welcome from HEBCoN’s Chair

Dear Members,

It gives me great pleasure to say that our membership is forever growing.

Natalie has been working hard to increase membership and sort out the membership renewal process. To date we have 118 members.

At the start of autumn 2020 we hope to be able to provide different training events such as webinars, online and interactive.

If you wish to host a course and influence its content to suit your Region please contact Natalie.

Due to circumstances out of our control the 2020 conference was postponed, it will be held in Liverpool in 2021.

We currently have some vacancies to fill on the Executive team. if you are interested then please let myself or Natalie know, they are:

Comms Officer

Northern Regional Chair




The Executive Committee

Veronique Mizgailo Chair London School of Economics v.mizgailo@lse.ac.uk 0207 107 5415
Alan Cowen Treasurer University of Brighton A.Cowen@brighton.ac.uk 01273 643143
Liz Rogers Co Chair – Scottish region University of Dundee e.rogers@dundee.ac.uk 01382 384422
Nikola Brown Co Chair – Scottish Region University of Edinburgh nikola.brown@ed.ac.uk 01316 508 196
Ashley Powell Ashley Kirby Secretary University of Bristol Ashley.kirby@bristol.ac.uk


0117 4284467
TBC Chair – Northern Region

Gary Mattingley Chair – Central Region Oxford Brookes University gmattingley@brookes.ac.uk 01865 483300
Sarah Rowe Vice Chair of HEBCoN,  Chair – London Region and Training Lead King’s College London sarah.a.rowe@kcl.ac.uk
TBC South West/Wales Regional Chair
Ross Ferguson Project Lead for Knowledge Exchange Programme Heriot-Watt University ross.ferguson@hw.ac.uk 0131 451 3404
Ben Toogood Marketing and Recruitment Officer University of Sussex B.P.Toogood@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678734
Natalie Beale Executive Officer info@hebcon.org 07584 435930